Scouting in Wisconsin has a long history, from the 1910s to the present day, serving thousands of youth in programs that suit the environment in which they live. There are seven Boy Scouts of America local councils headquartered in Wisconsin. Additionally, some adjacent councils in Illinois and Minnesota serve portions of Wisconsin. Besides these councils, some out of state councils maintain camp facilities in Wisconsin. For example, Ma-Ka-Ja-Wan Scout Reservation is a Boy Scouts of America property and High Adventure base located in Northern Wisconsin and serves the Scouts of the Northeast Illinois Council based in Highland Park, Illinois. Originally a logging camp, the Scouts purchased the land and first had campers in 1929. The camp is 1,560 acres in size. 

The Bay-Lakes Council is headquartered in Appleton, Wisconsin, and also serves Scouts in Michigan. Bay-Lakes Council #635 was formed on July 1, 1973. Bay-Lakes Council is one of the largest Boy Scout Councils in the United States. The council is served by Kon Wapos Lodge #635 of the Order of the Arrow. 

Blackhawk Area Council is headquartered in Rockford, Illinois and serves southwestern Wisconsin and northwestern Illinois. It runs Canyon Camp, located between Stockton and Apple River, Illinois, as well as Camp Lowden near Oregon, Illinois. Both camps are very successful, and are served by Wulapeju Lodge #140. The Chippewa Valley Council is headquartered in Eau Claire. 

The Gateway Area Council, headquartered in La Crosse, serves Scouts in Wisconsin and Minnesota. 

The Glacier's Edge Council provides Scouting services to communities in the counties of Adams, Columbia, Dane, Grant, Iowa, Jefferson, Lafayette, Richland, Sauk, Rock, Walworth in Wisconsin as well as Winnebago and Boone counties in Illinois. It is composed of representatives of more than 250 community organizations holding charters to operate a program of the Boy Scouts of America. The council meets annually in May to elect officers and board members. It was organized in 2005 growing from a consolidation of the Four Lakes and Sinnissippi Councils and granted a charter by the Boy Scouts of America.

Sinnissippi Council #626 served Scouts in south-central Wisconsin and north-central Illinois before it merged with the Madison-area Four Lakes Council #628 in 2005 to form Glacier's Edge Council #620. It is headquartered in Madison, with a service center in Janesville.

Indian Head Council merged with Viking Council in 2005 to create Northern Star Council. The Indianhead Council was a geographic subdivision of the Boy Scouts of America headquartered in Saint Paul, Minnesota, and including Ramsey and Washington Counties in Minnesota, and much of western Wisconsin. Its name came from the shape of the Wisconsin-Minnesota border, which is said to resemble that of the head of an Indian. As well as the office building in Saint Paul, facilities included Tomahawk Scout Reservation near Rice Lake, Wisconsin, Phillippo Scout Reservation near Cannon Falls, Minnesota, Fred C. Andersen Scout Camp near Hudson, Wisconsin, and Kiwanis Scout Camp near Marine on St. Croix, Minnesota. 

The Potawatomi Area Council is headquartered in Waukesha, Wisconsin. The Potawatomi Area Council serves all of Waukesha County and portions of Dodge, Jefferson, Walworth and Washington Counties. The Wag-O-Shag Lodge is the Order of the Arrow lodge for the Potawatomi Area Council.

Samoset Council is headquartered in Weston (near Wausau), and serves the north central part of Wisconsin and was founded in 1920. It gets its name from an early Boy Scout camp in the town of Harrison, named Camp Sam-O-Set which closed in 1934, a year before the construction of Camp Tesomas. Tesomas is one of three camps that are part of Crystal Lake Scout Reservation, the others being Akela's World Cub Scout Camp, and Hanna Venture Base. Samoset Council is served by Tom Kita Chara Lodge of the Order of the Arrow.

Three Harbors Council is a local council of the Boy Scouts of America serving three southeastern Wisconsin counties: Milwaukee County, Racine County, and Kenosha County. Its name and logo refer to the three major port cities of Milwaukee, Racine, and Kenosha (in those three counties of the same name) on Lake Michigan.

Minnesota, Voyageurs Area Council, headquartered in Hermantown, serves Scouts in Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Michigan. The Ka'niss Ma'ingan Lodge is the local Order of the Arrow Lodge for Voyageurs Council.

Can't find your favorite program? Well click here and drop us a line and we will add them.