New York

Map of New York State

Scouting in New York has a long history, from the 1910s to the present day, serving thousands of youth in programs that suit the environment in which they live. In fact, the first National Boy Scouts of America Headquarters was in New York City, and the Girl Scouts of the USA National Headquarters is located at 420 5th Avenue, New York, New York.

The Allegheny Highlands Council serves Scouts in Chautauqua, Cattaraugus, and Allegany counties in New York and McKean and Potter counties in Pennsylvania.

Baden-Powell Council was formed in 1998 by the merger of the former Baden-Powell Council (headquartered in Dryden, NY) and Susquenango Council (headquartered in Binghamton, New York). The council's new headquarters are in Binghamton. The council covers five counties in New York State—Broome, Chenango, Cortland, Tioga and Tompkins—as well as Susquehanna County in Pennsylvania

The Connecticut Rivers Council serves the majority of the State of Connecticut in addition to Fisher's Island in New York.

Five Rivers Council serves Scouts in the Southern tier of New York and the Northern tier of Pennsylvania.

The Greater New York Councils, Boy Scouts of America serves the Scouting families of the five boroughs of New York City.

Greater Niagara Frontier Council serves the territory of Erie and western Niagara Counties, with its headquarters in Buffalo.

Longhouse Council was formed in 2010 as a merger of Hiawatha Seaway Council and Cayuga County Council. The Hiawatha Seaway Council was formed in 1999 as a result of the merger of the Hiawatha Council and Seaway Valley Council. The council is headquartered in Syracuse, NY. The council currently owns 2 camps, including Sabattis Scouting Reservation and Camp Woodland. The council covers six counties in New York State — Cayuga, Jefferson, Lewis, Oswego, Onondaga, and St. Lawrence.

The Hudson Valley Council is headquartered in Newburgh, New York, and also serves Scouts in Pennsylvania. The grave of Daniel Carter Beard lies within the Hudson Valley Council, where an annual service is held.

Iroquois Trail Council, with its headquarters in Batavia, New York, serves Scouts in western New York. It was created in 1994 from a merger of two councils: Genesee (Genesee, Livingston, and Wyoming Counties) and Lewiston Trail (eastern Niagara and Orleans Counties).

The Otschodela Council of the Boy Scouts of America serves the needs of Delaware, Otsego and Schoharie Counties in upstate New York.
Otschodela Council was formed in 1924 as the Otsego-Schoharie Council; the third county added in 1926 and the name changed to Otschodela (OTsego-SCHOharie-DELAware). Otschodela Council, headquartered in Oneonta, NY, has retained its name and three-county borders ever since.

Revolutionary Trails Council serves a portion of central New York. In 2001, the Land of the Oneidas Council and General Herkimer Council merged forming the current council. The council provides Scouting to Herkimer, Oneida and Madison Counties as well as part of Hamilton, Otsego and Lewis Counties.

Rip Van Winkle Council serves the youth of Ulster and Greene counties of New York, and headquartered in Kingston. The Rip Van Winkle Council has the distinction of having 6 of the first 21 Eagle Scouts from the Class of 1912, the first class of Eagle Scouts.

Seneca Waterways Council (SWC) serves youth in the Counties of Ontario, Wayne, Seneca, Yates, and Monroe and the city of Rochester, New York.

Suffolk County Council serves scouts in Suffolk County, on Long Island, New York. Baiting Hollow Scout Camp is the council camp.

Theodore Roosevelt Council supports Scouting in Nassau County, New York.

Twin Rivers Council is based in Albany, New York. It serves a large geographic area that encompasses 13 counties of Northeastern New York. On February 14, 2006 the Adirondack Council and the Twin Rivers Council merged to form the Twin Rivers Council #364. This merger was the result of recommendations made by both of the respective Council Executive Boards with National that neither council could continue to exist financially and both would need to merge to become a new solvent council. The new council has within its boundaries much of the Adirondack Park, one of the Northeast's wildest places and a haven for Scouting activities.

Westchester-Putnam Council serves Scouts in southeastern New York State.

Towns with Scout Programs



Can't find your favorite program? Well click here and drop us a line and we will add them.