Map of Georgia

Scouting in Georgia has a long history, from the 1910s to the present day, serving thousands of youth in programs that suit the environment in which they live. The state is home to many milestones for the Scouting movement. The Girl Scout Birthplace is located in Savannah, and President Jimmy Carter served as a Scoutmaster in Plains. There are twelve active Boy Scouts of America local councils that serve Scouts in Georgia.

The Atlanta Area Council encompasses 13 counties in northern Georgia. The council office is currently located in Atlanta, Georgia.

The Central Georgia Council is a local council of the Boy Scouts of America, serving 24 counties in central Georgia.

Chattahoochee Council serves Scouts in Georgia and Alabama, with the Council office located in Columbus, Georgia. Active from 1964 to present, the council's name refers to the Chattahoochee River, which flows through Georgia, Alabama, and Florida.

Cherokee Area Council serves Scouts in Tennessee and Georgia, with the council office located in Chattanooga, Tennessee. The John Ross District serves Northwest Georgia Walker, Catoosa and Dade Counties. Website: Skymont Scout Reservation offers year-round and summer camping opprtunities,

The Council office of the Coastal Empire Council is located in Savannah, GA.. It was formed on March 1, 2014 when the Coastal Empire Council and the Okefenokee Area Council merged to form a new Coastal Georgia Council.

The Flint River Council which is headquartered out of its service center is in Griffin, Georgia.

The Georgia-Carolina Council has been active from 1941 to currently active. Council office located in Augusta, Georgia, includes districts in South Carolina and Georgia. 

The Northeast Georgia Council has been active from 1935 to currently active. Council office located in Pendergrass, Georgia.

Towns with Scout Programs:

Bethlehem Woodstock


Can't find your favorite program? Well click here and drop us a line and we will add them.